Friday 8 October 2021

DACG Annual Meeting 2021 and Fall Symposium

  • Welcome and introductionHans te Nijenhuis
  • Young-DACGMarloes Bistervels (AMOLF)
  • In remembrance of Prof dr ir Gerda M. van Rosmalen – Herman Kramer and Antoine van der Heijden (Delft University of Technology)
  • Steering crystallization with light, flow and soft matterBurak Eral (Delft University of Technology)
  • Towards effective crystallization by using small scale
    crystallizers. 17 Years of Crystallization – Carmen Guguta (Technobis)
  • Closing remarksHans te Nijenhuis


On 8 October, 2021, the DACG organized its fall meeting. This was the third time in a row that we
organized an event online due to the COVID19 measures. The DACG symposium was attended by 38
participants. Hans te Nijenhuis opened the symposium and welcomed the participants. He extended
a special welcome to the family of Gerda van Rosmalen, who passed away on 18 January 2021.
Following the opening, Marloes Bistervels (AMOLF) gave an update on the Young-DACG initiative. A
Telegram group has been initiated to quickly exchange questions, news, etc. among PhD students. A
LinkedIn group is proposed for exchange of more basic information.
In remembrance of Gerda van Rosmalen, professor of Industrial Crystallization and Clean Technology
at the Delft University of Technology from 1987-2002, Gerda’s contributions to the national and
international crystallization community were shared by Antoine van der Heijden and Herman Kramer
(both TU Delft). Burak Eral (TU Delft) presented new achievements on steering crystallization with
light, flow and soft matter. Carmen Guguta (Technobis), our new chair, introduced herself and
presented on the possibilities to investigate crystallization kinetics using small scale crystallizers.
On behalf of Gerda’s family, Koos Jansen acknowledged the DACG for the opportunity to participate
in this symposium. Hans te Nijenhuis closed the symposium, expressing the hope to meet each other
at an in-person event again in 2022.

Antoine van der Heijden

© Copyright - Nederlandse Vereniging voor Kristalgroei